Coming Soon …

I know, I know, I just got back, and now here I am headed out again for a couple of days. I thought it might be nice to let you know what I’m working on so that you’ll know what’s coming up when I return:

  • A discussion on the treatment of sex offenders, specifically dealing with the recent signing of a law in New York allowing for ‘civil commitment’ of certain sex offenders after their prison terms are up. I’ll be asking whether we should treat pedophiles like regular criminals or like people who are considered too disturbed to be responsible their crimes, but who need treatment and to be confined. It seems in New York we want to have it both ways.
  • Some happier posts! My mother says I don’t write enough upbeat stuff, so in the coming week look for a review of the book “Everything you never wanted your kids to know about sex but were afraid they’d ask.” And also look for an interview with the guys from Nekked, a great electronica/pop band that I first mentioned back in September. (I’m thinking about making book reviews a more regular feature of Sex in the Public Square. Feel free to send recommendations. I’m thinking about books that contribute something interesting and useful to public discourse around sexuality, and that have a down-to-earth, sex-positive spin.)
  • A first post in a series about monogamy. Specifically, I’m talking about the kinds of nonmonogamous commitments people make in serious long term sexual relationships. (If you have a nonmonogamous relationship you’d like to talk about, drop me an email using the link on the sidebar!)

So that’s what’s coming up. If you’ve had a comment moderated and posted already, you can comment without moderation while I’m away. (Otherwise comments will be held until I can get to a computer.)

I’ll be back soon. Be good! (That means you, JanieBelle!)
Elizabeth

5 Comments

Filed under book reviews, marriage, nonmonogamy, polyamory, sex, sex crimes, sex offenders

5 responses to “Coming Soon …

  1. Who me?

    Good?

    Not likely.

    😉

  2. Well, if you weren’t good while I was gone, at least you didn’t leave a mess 😉

  3. I’ve been non monogamous ever since becoming sexually active at age 15, which I’ve written about from time to time on my blog. However, I identify as a libertine, not as polyamorous or a swinger. Feel free to email me if you like.

  4. No mess, Elizabeth. (At least not on your blog.) 😉

    Libertine, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the demarcation between the three terms.