Daily Archives: January 13, 2007

Blog for Choice Day – January 22

January 22nd is “Blog for Choice” Day. On that day, the 34th anniversary of the Roe v. Wade decision, pro-choice bloggers are asked to dedicate at least one of their posts to the reasons they are support a woman’s right to safe and legal abortion. I’ll be participating, and I hope you’ll consider it too. If you don’t have a blog, I hope you’ll encourage your favorite bloggers to participate, and then come here on the 22nd and leave a comment about your own reasons for being pro-choice.

The idea behind the day is an interesting one. It’s not just about telling your own story. Blogs have become incredible social networking devices, and they influence the visibility of issues when lots of people are writing about the same thing. The pro-choice/anti-choice culture controversy is certainly quite visible, but I also think that lots of people don’t understand why we support safe and legal access to abortion. The “debate” often gets reduced to rhetoric, and our personal reasons get ignored or lost or rendered invisible. I don’t advocate making policy based on personal feelings, generally speaking, but personal stories help frame issues, as the recent Ms. Magazine effort did, and I think in terms of abortion access, those who oppose abortion have been much more successful at getting their stories out there.

So, on January 22nd, let’s tell our stories: I’ll tell you why I’m pro-choice and I hope lots of other folks will do the same.

For more information, click the “Blog for Choice” button below

1 Comment

Filed under activism, community-building, Education, News and politics, public discourse, Relationships, sex, sex and health, sex and the law, sexuality